### 2.21 LEAD PAINT RENTAL UNIT REGISTRATION

Question: When do I have to register my rental unit(s) in Maryland?

### Why do I need this approval?

The purpose of this program is to reduce childhood lead poisoning, maintain affordable housing, and provide liability relief to compliant property owners. If not detected early, children with high levels of lead in their bodies can suffer from hyperactivity, slowed growth, damage to their brain and nervous system, hearing problems and headaches.

Property owners with rental units constructed prior to 1950 are required to register with MDE. Property owners with rental units constructed after 1950 may choose to "opt-in" but must meet all applicable requirements for properties constructed prior to 1950. Liabilty for property owners who register their rental units, provide tenants with the required educational materials, and comply with all applicable risk reduction standards are capped at \$ 17,000.

## What laws or regulations give MDE the legal authority to issue this approval?

STATE: Environment Article - Title 6, Subtitle 8, Annotated Code of Maryland; COMAR 26.16.01 – 26.16.04.

### What is the process to get this approval?

 Submit rental property registration form, specifying the number of rental units being registered with MDE.
Include rental registration fees, payable to the Maryland Department of the Environment, to: Maryland Department of the Environment P.O. Box 23660 Baltimore, Maryland 21203-5660

### Are there any other requirements?

Rental property owners must distribute tenant educational materials upon execution of leases to new tenants and redistribute every two (2) years thereafter. Property owners with rental units constructed after 1950 and choose to "opt-out" may still need to comply with disclosure requirements contained in the Federal law commonly known as Title X, Section 1018 of the Residential Lead-based Paint Hazard Reduction Act of 1992. Additional information on disclosure may be

obtained by contacting the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) at 1 (800) 438-2474 or (215) 514-5000. Properties must meet risk reduction standards at each change of occupancy that are verified through a "visual inspection" or "lead dust test" by an MDE accredited visual inspector or risk assessor. Rental properties can also be tested and certified as lead-free. For a list of accredited lead paint inspection and abatement contractors, contact the Lead Program at (410) 537-3825.

Property owners must disclose to prospective buyers any obligation to perform risk reduction treatments not yet performed that have been triggered to turnover, notice(s) of defect, or notice(s) of elevated blood lead levels that will not be performed prior to transfer.

# How long should I expect it to take to get this approval once I submit a complete application? 30 days

### Once I get this approval, how long will it last?

Rental property registration fees are required to registry annually with MDE by December 31st.

#### How much will this approval cost?

Fees are \$15 for rental units that are not lead-free and are constructed prior to 1950 or for rental units that are constructed after 1950 that are not lead-free that property owners elect to "opt-in." The annual rental unit renewal fee is the same as the initial registration fee (\$15). Fees are \$10 for each rental unit that is certified as lead-free.

### Who do I contact with additional questions?

Lead Rental Property Registry Section (410) 537-3919

### Related link:

 $\frac{http://www.mde.state.md.us/landpermits/pages/forms.a}{\underline{spx}}$