
 

 

 
 

 

FACTS ABOUT 
MARYLAND’S “LEAD LAW” 

 
SUMMARY OF COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS  

RESIDENTIAL RENTAL PROPERTIES 
 

 
 
Title 6, Subtitle 8, of the Environment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, and (“Act”) was enacted to reduce 
the incidence of lead poisoning while maintaining affordable rental housing. The Maryland Department of the 
Environment (MDE) was given the authority to enforce the provisions of the Act. Compliance is mandatory for 
rental dwelling units built prior to 1978, regardless of renovation history.  
 
COMPLIANCE REQUIRES THE FOLLOWING: 
 

1. REGISTRATION WITH MDE 
Owner must register all rental dwelling units within 30 days of acquisition and renewed on or before 
December 31 each year. Registration includes the payment of $30 per rental dwelling unit. 

 
2. DISTRIBUTION OF TENANT EDUCATIONAL INFORMATION 
All tenants must be provided with the “Notice of Tenants Rights,” and “Protect Your Family from Lead in 
Your Home” brochures and a copy of the current inspection certificate upon inception of the tenancy and 
every two years thereafter. 

 
3. MEET THE RISK REDUCTION STANDARD 
All rental properties subject to the Act are required to be lead inspected by a MDE accredited lead paint 
inspector upon the occurrence of certain triggering events. The lead inspector will issue a Lead Paint Risk 
Reduction Certificate and all supporting documentation, summarizing the findings of their inspection. The 
Accredited lead paint inspector will submit a copy to MDE and provide two copies to the owner. The owner 
should keep one copy for their records and give one to their tenant. An owner of a pre-1978 rental dwelling 
units must: 

 
a. Meet Full Risk Reduction Standard at Every Change in Occupancy 

All properties subject to the Act are required to pass an inspection for lead contaminated dust, 

performed by an MDE accredited inspection contractor, prior to every change in occupancy.  In order to 

pass the inspection the property must be free of defective paint on the interior and exterior of the 

property. 

b. Meet the Modified Risk Reduction Standard Upon Notice 

 1. Within 30 days of being notified a person at risk (pregnant woman or child under 6 years of 
 age) has a blood lead level of 5 micrograms per deciliter or more and an Environmental 
 Investigation has identified defects  or 
 
 2. Within 30 days after receipt of a written notice from the tenant, or from any other source, of 
 the presence of defects in the unit. 
 

 How to Comply with the Modified Risk Reduction Standard  
 1. Providing for the permanent relocation of all tenants to a property that is certified lead free or in 
 compliance with the full risk reduction standard; or 
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http://www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Land/LeadPoisoningPrevention/RentalPropertyOwners/LeadRegistration/Pages/index.aspx
http://www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Land/Documents/LeadPamphlets/LeadPamphletMDENoticeOfTenantsRights.pdf
http://www2.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2013-09/documents/lead_in_your_home_brochure_book_color_508.pdf
http://www2.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2013-09/documents/lead_in_your_home_brochure_book_color_508.pdf


                         

 

 

 
 2. Temporarily relocated all tenants while all necessary work is performed and obtain a passing 
 modified risk reduction certificate prior to the tenants moving back into the property. 
 

 
4. USE TRAINED WORKERS, ACCREDITED SUPERVISORS AND CONTRACTORS.  All work performed to meet 
a risk reduction standard must be performed by persons/companies who have been trained and/or 
accredited by MDE. 

 
CERTAIN PROPERTIES MAY BE EXEMPT FROM THE ACT IF 

 

 The property is a hotel, motel or similar seasonal or transient facility; or 

 The property has been lead paint tested by a MDE-accredited inspector and has issued a “Lead Free” 

or “Limited Lead Free” certificate. Any report submitted to the Department certifying a unit as “Lead 

Free” or “Limited Lead Free” shall include a processing fee of $10 per unit.  

 
 

For more information on Rental Registration please visit the Rental Registration Page or call 410-537-4199 or toll free 
in Maryland 1-800-776-2706.  
 
For more information on Compliance please visit the Lead Program's Rental Owner Page or call (410) 537-3825 or toll 
free in Maryland 1-800-633-6101, Ext. 3825. 
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