

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT

1800 Washington Boulevard • Baltimore MD 21230 410-537-3000 • 1-800-633-6101 • www.mde.state.md.us

Martin O'Malley Governor Robert M. Summers, Ph.D. Secretary

Anthony G. Brown Lieutenant Governor

March 19, 2014

The Honorable Maggie McIntosh, Chair Members, Environmental Matters Committee House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: Senate Bill 62 – Chesapeake Bay Trust – Powers and Duties – Member Terms

Dear Chairperson McIntosh and Committee Members:

The Maryland Department of the Environment has reviewed Senate Bill 62, *Chesapeake Bay Trust – Powers and Duties – Member Terms*, and would like to express our support for this bill.

The Chesapeake Bay Trust (Trust) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit grant making organization established by the General Assembly in 1985. The organization administers private voluntary donations from the "Treasure the Chesapeake" license plate program and the Chesapeake Bay and Endangered Species Fund Tax Check off to support K-12 environmental education, on-the-ground habitat and water quality restoration, and other community awareness and engagement projects. The mission of the Trust is complementary to the efforts of the Maryland Department of the Environment to restore and protect water quality. The Department is an ex officio member of the Trust Board.

This legislation makes two changes to the statute that created the Trust. First, it allows board members to serve more than two terms as long as they are not consecutive. Second, it removes the provision in the law prohibiting the Trust from accepting any gift, bequest, or lease of real or personal property to further the Trust's non-profit mission. We believe these changes will further support the mission and effectiveness of the Trust.

Thank you for your consideration. I am available to answer any questions you may have. Please feel free to contact me at 410-260-6301 or by e-mail at Jeffrey.Fretwell@maryland.gov if I can be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Fretwell

Of Fremal

cc: Robert M. Summers, Secretary

Jay G. Sakai, MDE, Director, Water Management Administration