Part 70/Title V Program Information

Public Hearings Scheduled for Draft Title V Permits

Upcoming public hearings for Title V source draft permits can be found on the Draft Part 70 Permits page, or on the calendar on the MDE website.

For more information on public participation opportunities, or to be added to one or more Interested Parties list(s), please call Ms. Shannon Heafey, the Title V Coordinator, at 410-537-4433.

Interested Parties Notice of Public Records

The Maryland Department of the Environment, Air Quality Permits Program, maintains an Interested Parties List for the Title V Air Operating Permits program so that a mailing list of concerned citizens, organizations and other members of the public can be established. The Interested Parties lists are used to provide information on upcoming public participation opportunities.

As the Maryland Department of the Environment is a public agency subject to the Maryland Public Information Act, the interested parties list, including names and addresses, becomes part of the public record available for inspection by the public.   The permit applicant, elected officials, and interested parties may review this or any part of the public record.

If you do not want your personal information (as described above) to be included in the public record files of the Department, or if you have any questions about this notice, please contact Ms. Shannon Heafey, Air Quality Permits Program, at 410-537-4433 or via email at Please note, requesting the removal of your information from Interested Parties Lists will preclude you from receiving further individual notices of public review opportunities.

Changes to Fees for Part 70/ Title V Permits

The Department has revised regulations in order to implement the permit fee increases provided by Senate Bill 442 Clean Air Permit Fees that was signed into law on April 24, 2008. The revised fee schedule under COMAR became effective October 1, 2008.  

Please see the Part 70 Fee page for the specific changes.

The annual base fee of $5000.00 plus the per-ton fee of $50.00 for the actual certified emissions began in 2009. In addition, the annual dollar-per-ton amount has been increased each January by applying the increase of the Consumer Price Index (CPI), if any, to the emissions-based fee of 50.00 per actual ton of criteria pollutants.

Beginning Janaury 1, 2010, the facility emissions cap was removed.  Every facility subject to annual permit to operate fees is required to pay for all of the emissions of regulated air pollutants that are emitted, excluding CO and Greenhouse gases. These emissions are certified by the facility for each calendar year and reported to the Department by April 1 every year for the previous calendar year.​