Press Release

Maryland Department of the Environment

Media Contacts

Jeffrey Welsh
(410) 537-3003

Richard McIntire
(410) 537-3012
(410) 716-8784-Pager

Water Management Advisory Committee Meets October 27th Ehrlich Names Former Johns Hopkins Water Expert to Lead Group

BALTIMORE, MD (October 24, 2003) – The first meeting of the Advisory Committee on the Management and Protection of the State’s Water Resources is scheduled for 9 a.m. on Monday, Oct. 27 at the Maryland Department of the Environment headquarters in Montgomery Park, located at 1800 Washington Boulevard.

Governor Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. has appointed Dr. M. Gordon “Reds” Wolman as chairman of the committee. Wolman, formerly chairman of the Department of Geography and Environmental Science at The Johns Hopkins University, is a nationally recognized expert on water issues.

The 21-member committee will make recommendations on the management, development, conservation and protection of the state’s water resources in years to come. The deadline for their report to Governor Ehrlich is May 31, 2004.

“The recent drought reinforced the importance of managing Maryland water resources,” the governor said. “This committee’s work will help us balance the need for growth with the need for reliable sources of water and ensure that we protect our water resources.”

Acting Secretary of the Environment Kendl P. Philbrick, whose department will provide staff and technical support to the committee, said, “The committee will also address the issue of water in the local planning process, which will be invaluable to counties and communities as they make planning decisions.”

The meeting will be held in the Aqua/Aeris meeting rooms on the first floor of the building.

Legislative Appointees

The Honorable Thomas M. Middleton – Maryland Senate, Charles County
The Honorable Galen R. Clagett – Maryland House of Delegates, Frederick County

Department Secretaries or Designees

Environment – Dr. Robert Summers, Director, Water Management Administration
Health and Mental Hygiene – Alan Brench, Chief, Division of Food Control
Agriculture – Louise Lawrence, Chief, Office of Resource Conservation
Natural Resources – Dr. Emery Cleaves, Director, Maryland Geological Survey
Planning – The Honorable Audrey E. Scott or designee

Gubernatorial Appointees

Dr. Russell Brinsfield – Wye Research and Education Center
David A. C. Carroll – Baltimore County Environmental Protection and Resource Management
Walter Finster – Allegany County Department of Environmental Health
James Gerhart – U.S. Geological Survey
Roy E. Hancock – Charles County Planning and Growth Management
George O. Hanson – Chesapeake Ranch Water Company
Dr. Anwarul Huq – University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute
Patricia A. McCants – College Park Public Works Department
Gary Mangum – Bell’s Nursery
William P. Stack – Baltimore City Water Quality Management Section
David D. R. Thomey – Maryland Aggregates Association
Frank Wise – Prince George’s County Health Department
C. Victoria Woodward, Esquire – Safe Waterways in Maryland