Press Release


Maryland Department of the Environment

Media Contacts

Jeffrey R. Welsh
(410) 537-3003

Richard McIntire
(410) 537-3012
(410) 716-8784-Pager

Bay Restoration Advisory Committee to Meet October 13th

BALTIMORE (October 8, 2004) – Governor Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. has named Robert E. Warfield chair of the Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee. Mr. Warfield is the former president and co-owner of Moore, Warfield & Glick, a real estate brokerage in Ocean City.

The committee will advise the secretary of the environment on issues related to the Bay Restoration Fund, the landmark environmental legislation proposed by Governor Ehrlich and enacted by the General Assembly in 2004.

“This committee will serve as both advisor and sounding board as we move forward with the Bay Restoration Fund, and the expertise and environmental commitment of its members will be invaluable,” the governor said. “And Bob Warfield, with his excellent credentials, will be an effective chair.”

Mr. Warfield has extensive experience in real estate development and was Chairman of the Worcester County Wastewater Task Force Commission. “I am eager to get to work on this critical issue.” Mr. Warfield said. “And I strongly believe that everyone should do their fair share to ensure that we leave our environment in better condition than we found it."

The secretary of the environment, Kendl P. Philbrick, said, “The Bay Restoration Fund is the most significant environmental legislation in Maryland in 25 years. This committee will play a key role in its implementation.”

The committee will hold its first meeting at 1 p.m. on Oct. 13 at the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) headquarters. The other members of the committee are:

William P. Ball, Ph.D.
The Johns Hopkins University

David B. Bancroft
Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay

Veronica L. Chenowith
Harford County Council

Ron Crites
Department of Budget and Management

Kevin Dayhoff
Mayor of Westminster

Delegate Barbara Frush

James L. Hearn
Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Senator Paula C. Hollinger

William Bryan Icenhower, M.D.
St. Mary’s County Health Department

E. Keith Menchey
Maryland Department of the Agriculture

Gregory B. Murray
Washington County Dept. of Water Quality

Karen Harris Oertel
W.H. Harris Seafood

Leland D. Spencer, M.D.
Kent County Health Department

Thomas H. Stoner
Trustee of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Robert M. Summers
Maryland Department of the Environment

Still to be named are representatives of the departments of planning and natural resources.

The meeting is from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. on October 13, 2004. MDE is located at 1800 Washington Boulevard in Baltimore.



Contact the Office | Accessibility | Privacy Notice

1800 Washington Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21230 ● (410) 537-3000