Maryland Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Membership

Revised: 01/05/22 @9:27am

Composition

The Commission categories are established by statute. Md. Code Ann., Envir. § 6-807. All positions, with the exception of the member of the House and the member of the Senate are appointed by the Governor. The terms of the Governor's appointees are four years but a member at the end of his/her term continues to serve until a successor is appointed. The Governor appoints the Chair from among the members. There is no statutory term for the chairmanship.

Recent Changes to Lead Commission Membership

In May of 2020, Senate Bill 18 (SB18) was passed in Maryland. SB 18 alters the membership of the Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission to include one representative each from a nonprofit focused on lead poisoning prevention issues and the American Academy of Pediatrics, Maryland Chapter; removed the Commission members representing a premises liability coverage insurer and a financial institution that makes loans secured by rental Property; repealed certain requirements for a window replacement program; altering the subjects that the Commission may appoint a subcommittee to study to include case management, lead paint abatement service provider education and training, and blood lead testing; etc. These changes become effective October, 1, 2020.

Category	Current Member and Represented Organization	Term End Date ¹
Member of the House	Delegate Dalya Attar	Serves at the pleasure of the House Speaker
Member of the Senate	Senator Jill P. Carter	Serves at the pleasure of the Senate President
1.Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) Secretary or designee	Paula Montgomery	09/30/24
2.Maryland Department of Health (MDH) Secretary or designee	Cliff Mitchell	09/30/25
3.Maryland Department of Housing & Community Development (HCD) Secretary or designee	Jack Daniels	09/30/23
4.Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) Commissioner or designee	Benita Cooper	09/30/23
5.Department of Human Services (DHS) Child Care Administration Director or designee	Manjula Paul	09/30/22
6.Representative of local government	Mary Beth Haller, Baltimore City Health Department	09/30/24
7. Representative from a nonprofit organization	Ruth Ann Norton, Green and Healthy Homes Initiative	09/30/24
8.American Academy of Pediatrics, Maryland Chapter	Paul Rogers	09/30/24
9.Representative of owners of rental property located in Baltimore City built before 1950	Jacob Benzaquen, JBZ Management	09/30/23
10.Representative of owners of rental property located outside Baltimore City built before 1950	Adam Skolnik, Maryland Multi Housing Association	09/30/22
11.Representative of owners of rental property built after 1949	Leonidas Newton	09/30/18
12.Representative of a child health or youth advocacy group	Vacant	Vacant
13.Health care provider	Barbara Moore, Mount Washington Pediatric Hospital	09/30/23
14.Child advocate	Anna L. Davis, Department of Health Policy and Management Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health	09/30/23
15.Parent of a lead poisoned child	Vacant	Vacant
16.Lead hazard identification professional	Susan Kleinhammer, LeadTec Services, Inc.	09/30/18
17.Representative of child care providers	Christina Peusch, Maryland State Child Care Association	09/30/25

¹ Members whose term end dates have passed are continuing to serve as no successor was appointed.