

FACTS ABOUT: § 4-411.1 OF THE ENVIRONMENT ARTICLE ANNOTATED CODE OF MARYLAND

This is a courtesy copy of Annotated Code of Maryland. Official law language should be checked at: <u>http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmStatutes.aspx</u>.

§ 4-411.1. Underground oil storage facilities.

(a) *Registration required.* – On or before July 1, 1990, the owner, operator, or person in charge of an underground oil storage facility shall register the underground oil storage facility with the Department.

(b) *Prohibition on delivery to unregistered facilities.* – Unless an underground oil storage facility is registered with the Department in accordance with the provisions of subsection (a) of this section and is in substantial compliance with State law and regulations relating to oil storage, as defined by regulation, no oil may be sold to or received by the underground oil storage facility.

(c) *Notification of removal or lapse.* – For the purposes of this section, if any underground oil storage facility registered with the Department under subsection (a) of this section is removed, or no longer in use, the owner, operator, or person in charge of the underground oil storage facility shall notify the Department not later than 30 days after the removal or discontinuance of use.

- (d) Regulation. The Department shall adopt regulations to:
 - (1) Implement the provisions of this section; and
 - (2) Define "underground oil storage facility".

CONTACTS

For further information on requirements for UST systems, please contact the Oil Control Program at (410) 537-3442 or (800) 633-6101 x3442. To report oil spills call 1-866-633-4686. Available 24 hours a day.



Maryland Department of the Environment 1800 Washington Boulevard | Baltimore, MD 21230-1718 | www.mde.maryland.gov 410-537-3000 | 800-633-6101 | TTY Users: 800-735-2258 Oil Control Program | May 2017