2.10 SURFACE WATER DISCHARGE PERMIT FOR OIL TERMINALS

□ Question: Does my company have over 5 million gallons of aboveground oil storage and receive oil by pipeline or marine transfer? If so, does my company discharge storm-water or hydrostatic test water to surface or ground waters of the state?

Why do I need this approval?

The <u>surface water discharge permit for oil terminals</u> combines the requirements of the state discharge permit program and the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) into one permit for oil terminal facilities that discharge storm water or hydrostatic test water to state surface waters. The permit is designed to meet federal effluent guidelines where applicable and to ensure the discharge satisfies state water quality standards. Oil terminals receiving oil by pipeline or marine transfer and which have greater than 5 million gallons storage capacity must apply.

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal authority to issue this approval?

FEDERAL: Federal Clean Water Act. STATE: Environment Article, Title 9, Subtitle 3; COMAR 26.08.01 - .04. and COMAR 26.08.08.

What is the process to get this approval?

1) Complete the application form and mail without fees to:

Maryland Department of the Environment LMA/Oil Control Program 1800 Washington Blvd, Suite 620 Baltimore, MD 21230-1719 2) Mail fees to:

Maryland Department of the Environment P.O. Box 1417

Baltimore, MD 21203-1417

- 3) The Department publishes notice of the application received at applicant's expense and provides an opportunity for an informational meeting.
- 4) The Department develops permit limits.
- 5) The Department publishes a notice of tentative determination at applicant's expense and conducts a public hearing, if requested.
- 6) The Department issues the permit if adverse comments are not received.
- 7) If adverse comments are received, the Department prepares a final determination and publishes additional notice at applicant's expense providing 15 days to request a contested case hearing.
- 8) The Department issues the permit if the final determination is not contested.
- 9) If contested, the administrative procedures for the appeal process are followed.

Is this approval directly related or contingent on other approvals?

This permit may be related to any of the following:

- 2.06 Oil Operations Permit
- 1.01, 1.02, 1.05 Air Quality Permits
- 3.15 Water Appropriations and Use Permit

Are there any other requirements?

POST-APPROVAL: Must meet all effluent limits, monitoring requirements and other permit conditions.

How long should I expect it to take to get this approval once I submit a complete application? 180 days

Once I get this approval, how long will it last? 5 years

How much will this approval cost?

Type of Fee	Fee
Application fee	\$50 to \$2,000 depending on
COMAR 26.08.04.11	the volume of discharge.
Annual permit fee	\$100 to \$5,000 depending
COMAR 26.08.04.11	on the volume of the
	discharge.

Do I need to know any additional information?

If the facility stores 5 million gallons or less of oil and does not receive marine or pipeline transfers, you may be eligible to apply for a general discharge permit (2.09).

Bulk storage of products other than oil or performing certain industrial activities at a facility may require you to apply for an industrial discharge permit (3.03).

Who do I contact with additional questions?

AST and Permits Section

Oil Control Program (410) 537-3442

Related link:

https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Land/Pages/landpermits.aspx