

# STATE OF MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS MINUTES OF THE EMERGENCY MEETING HELD

Monday, August 9, 2021 – 9:00 AM

Video Conference via Google Meet Link: meet.google.com/iss-azcb-rze

Phone: +1 617-675-4444 / PIN 183 318 965 1657#

9 \*

10 11

1

# **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**

12 Jay Price Sanitary Commission; Board Chair; Liaison-CSAWWA

13 Ben Thompson (present at 9:19 am) County Government; Board Vice-Chair

14 Doug Abbott Water Supervision

Bruce Darner Agriculture; Liaison- WWOA
Dominic Deludos Industrial Superintendent

17 Eric Dutrow Public At Large

18 Rosann Ndebumado Municipal Government

19 Partha Tallapragada Maryland Environmental Service

20 21

#### LIAISONS, GUESTS & STAFF PRESENT

Dee Settar
Jennifer Bowman
Martin Fuhr
Victoria Arbaugh
Board Secretary
Board Counsel
Board Staff
Board Staff

2627

### **BOARD MEMBERS NOT PRESENT**

28 Hiram Tanner Public At Large

29 VACANT Wastewater Supervision

VACANT MDE

30 31 32

33 34

#### 01. CALL TO ORDER

35 36

Board Chair Jay Price called the meeting to order at 9:04 AM. Roll Call was done by Victoria Arbaugh, Board staff. The Board meeting was conducted virtually via video conference using Google Meet.

37 38

#### 02. REVIEW AND ADOPTION OF PROPOSED EMERGENCY MEETING AGENDA

Bruce Darner moved to adopt the proposed meeting agenda. Dominic Deludos seconded the motion. 40 41

Board Chairman Jay Price abstained. The motion carried unanimously.

42 43

39

## 03. BOARD VOTE TO MOVE INTO CLOSED SESSION

44 45 46

47

48 49

50

Pursuant to General Provisions Article ("GP") § 3-305(b), on a motion made by Doug Abbot and seconded by Dominic Deludos, the following Board members voted in favor to move into closed session on August 9, 2021 at 9:11 AM via Google Meet video/ teleconference for the purpose of complying with certain provisions of the Open Meetings Act: Dominic Deludos, Bruce Darner, Partha Tallapragada, Ben Thompson, Doug Abbott, Eric Dutrow, and Rosann Ndebumado; Chairman Jay Price abstained. The motion carried.

51 52 53

# **04. ADJOURNMENT**

54 55

moved to adjourn the virtual conference meeting at 9:11 AM. The next meeting will be held on September 16, 2021 by Video Conference to be held using Google Meet.

57 58 59

60

61

62

56

### **Call To Order and Purpose of Closed Meeting**

With a quorum present, Chairman Jay Price called the meeting of the closed session to order at 9:12 AM to perform administrative functions, pursuant to the following provisions of GP § 3-305(b):

63 64

GP § 3-305(b)(7) - To consult with Board Counsel to obtain legal advice

65 66

67 68 During the closed meeting, the following Board members were present: Chairman Jay Price, Vice-Chairman Ben Thompson, Doug Abbott, Rosann Ndebumado, Dominic Deludos, Bruce Darner and Partha Tallapragada. The following MDE staff were also present during the closed meeting: Jenn Bowman, Dee Settar, Martin Fuhr, and Victoria Arbaugh. The following Board Members were not present: Hiram Tanner.

69 70 71

72

73

74

## **Topics Discussed During Closed Meeting**

Board Members received an update from Board Counsel regarding the Governor's Executive Order to administratively extend certification renewals until June 30, 2021. Board Members also discussed and approved extending the termination date through August 15, 2021.

75 76