# 2.18 SPECIAL MEDICAL WASTE HAULER AND VEHICLE CERTIFICATION AND IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

Question: Do I drop off or pick up special medical waste in I
---

Question: Do I generate 50 pounds or more of special medical waste a month or accumulate more than 50 pounds of special medical waste?

#### Why do I need this approval?

To ensure the safe transport of medical wastes within Maryland, the Department regulates the movements of medical wastes by certifying haulers and vehicles.

### What laws or regulations give MDE the legal authority to issue this approval?

STATE: Environment Article, Title 7, Subtitle 2, Annotated Code of Maryland: COMAR 26.13.11, 26.13.12 and 26.13.13.

### What is the process to get this approval?

Generators:

- 1) Applicant submits a Notification of Special Medical Waste (SMW) Activity Form (see website for form).
- 2) Department assigns a special medical waste Id number to the site. Hauler/Vehicle:
- 1) Applicant submits a Special Medical Waste (SMW) Hauler Application, a SMW vehicle application for each vehicle with supporting documents and the fee (see website for forms).
- 2) The Department reviews the application and issues or denies the certificate.

### Are there any other requirements?

PRE-APPROVAL: Applications must include:

- Annual Vehicle Inspection Certificates from a licensed inspection station approved by the Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles or other State agency;
- 3) Proof of liability insurance (certificate of insurance);
- 4) List of customers;
- 5) List of destination facilities where approval has been received;
- 6) List of any environmental violations;
- 7) Vehicle List (must be in .xls Format); and
- 8) \$10,000 bond or letter of credit.

## How long should I expect it to take to get this approval once I submit a complete application?

30 days for an Identification Number 60 days for Hauler/Vehicle Certification

### Once I get this approval, how long will it last?

Identification Number is assigned to the site address for life

Annual (12 month period) Hauler/Vehicle Certification

### How much will this approval cost?

\$50 annually for each vehicle (12 month period)

Identification number for SMW generator: no fee

### Who do I contact with additional questions?

Solid Waste Program
Jennifer Hopper, Section Head
Jennifer.hopper@maryland.gov or 410-537-3350

Paul "Brian" Sodeman Paul.sodeman@maryland.gov or 410-537-3397

For haulers only: mde.haulers@maryland.gov

### Related link:

https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Land/Pages/landpermits.aspx